diary / go back

thinking... website counter widget


archive 〜 2020 2021

Date: 08-31-22

Subject: time waits for no one

once again time goes by and my life is completely different from the last time I wrote
I'm heading to grad school next month because realized a goal I wanted to work towards.
finanically things seem to be looking up. saving money and no worries about student loan debt now
somehow the pandemic turned from disasterous to optimistic and I came out of it determined.
certainly my experiences working in the arts and engaging w/ the professional world helped considerably

however I still have this inkling to drop everything and leave the country. I don't think this feeling will ever leave me.
even if it meant marrying someone just to get citizenship elsewhere. I would do it in a heartbeat.
I've never really had any attachment to my hometown, and especially not after living abroad for a bit.
to live where social welfare is considered first priority vs. one that simply wants you work until your dead.
If I were rich, I'd leave and never come back. I'd take my family with me too.


I'll save the rest of my thoughts for another time.


listening to:

Date: 02-01-21

Subject: DJ

I really want to learn how to livemix music. I've been watching various dj sets non-stop for the past week or so...I really am pissed the thought never occurred to me before. I always assumed DJing as a hobby was super expensive, but the entry-level controllers are around $250ish.

I've had this urge bubbling up for awhile, after being a radio host at university (hardly a real DJ as I was just queuing up a playlist), and watching club mogra streams every year... and then in europe when I actually got into the nightlife. but for some reason I always viewed it as something I couldn't do. so weird.

after watching so many basic tutorials it really doesn't seem TOO difficult, I'm not sure how serious I want to get yet, but I want to be good/confident enough to be able to post a mix on the internet. since I already have a music following audience on my youtube channel, I could turn this ~learning experience~ into something that ppl will enjoy, hopefully. I've always felt kind of insecure about my channel, as though making video edits is simply not enough of an "art form" to be considered valuable artistically. y'know? I dunno. learning to DJ is something I could physically perform, requiring real-time skill. I just love the thought of being able to create a set and mix music.

still i'm only talking about DJing for now, i've yet to take the leap and actually purchase the controller to start learning. I just want to be certain that I can do this.


listening to:

Date: 01-26-21

Subject: sunscreen

i keep buying things i definitely don't need and then immediately afterwards... regret. for instance i bought this expensive sunscreen for absolutely no reason.
i barely spent any money during this whole pandemic and now for some reason i can't stop buying shit.
it's so rare for me to spend money at all which is why i felt i had to write about it.
i guess i'm trying to fill a void of some kind, but at the same time i want to improve myself. i feel like the whole of last year i let myself wither, which is why i think partly the things i'm buying now are linked to self-improvement in some way.

well, that's what i tell myself to cope i guess.

Date: 06-20-20

Subject: childhood

i've been thinking a lot about my childhood lately. specifically my middle school years.
this always happens when i come back home, but now that life has been distrupted and i've official become an 'adult' i've been thinking about these things more acutely.
the last entry i wrote was near the beginning of my final semester, and now it's been a little more than a month since i graduated
i know what i want for the future, but i wonder if it can actually happen. right now i just want stability, i wish i didn't have to graduate. i want to go back to school now more than ever.

anyway, childhood. childhood! the whole pandemic thing let me reconnect with my old best friends from middle school. although it was a simple exchange of a few dms, i feel much better about things, considering how they used to be in high school.
i hope there will come a day when we can all meet up once again. i think the last time i was truly happy was in middle school.
i kind of wish i kept this diary up during everything that was going on, but there were moments when i was really in a terrible place. right now i'm kind of just... drifting

listening to: tatsuro yamashita – endless game

Date: 01-22-20

Subject: anticipation

I'm settled finally. Well, maybe not completely. Tomorrow I start my internship, I'm nervous but excited at the same time. I just gotta be socialable, ask questions, etc.
I keep telling myself to be chill, but I know the metro ride over will be full of anxiety. I'm thinking back to the hour long presentations I did last semester, surely I can come into this internship with the composure I managed in those situations.
Compared to that, and going to Paris and living on my own, this is minor.

I was just in my Intro level philosphy course. I'm taking it as an elective. Even after studying a lot of the ancient world, I never actually had read philosophical content from these periods. Plato's Republic is pretty fascinating.

"Injustice is better whether or not the Gods exist--if they exist they can be swayed by sacrifice"

Prayer = being absolved from sin, therefore it is better to act unjust and get rich so that you can absolve yourself in the current, and next life.
Just as my professor was talking this response of Adeimantus' to Socrates on justice, I immediently made a mental note to Christianity.
Right as I did that, someone else raised their hand to connect Adeimentus as a "foreshadowing" of the Protestant reformation.
I hadn't thought of indulgences, I was more thinking along the lines of confessional. But we were probably on the same wavelength.
My mind kind of spun-off while our professor continued to talk: doesn't the fact that Christianity placed these means of absoval at the disposal of its believers reveal that the institution itself believes humans are inherently unjust? Just a thought...
Studying ancient philosophy/the bible/any religious text tells us much more about human nature than it does an afterlife. Certainly the existentialists knew that.
I'm glad I took this course. Trying to savor every last moment of my undergraduate education.

current mood:
rikako

Date: 01-09-20

Subject: alone

finally back to school. I'm here early and there's really not many other students on campus yet, certainly not my roommates.
relishing these moments alone. constant travel & commotion during the break never really made it feel relaxing. but now I'm in a state of hiberation.

things are looking very positive for the future.

I watched My Brilliant Career today, it left an impact. I think it was good timing to watch considering my current situation.
a few days ago I also saw the new Little Women. I wish I could be like jo or sybylla. I often feel that I'm uninteresting to others.

thinking on these two movies, I also realized how different my life would be if I had lived in those eras.
I definitely wouldn't be able to pursue my goals if it were then.
while things have changed socially for the better, the financial burden still weighs heavy.

having a dream is so expensive.

listening to: J.S. Bach – Air on the G String

Date: 01-05-20

Subject: the beginning

this is my first entry!
I'm in texas rn. sitting upstairs away from my noisy relatives.
I just wish I started my website sooner... it's already a new decade & I'm basically an adult now.
I'll be 22 in 2 weeks and I'm feeling so sick about it. I dont want to get any older.
I don't think it's normal how often I think about the passage of time. everything just moves so fast.
let me just just pause it all.
I do not want to grow up! make it stoooop!

current mood:
rikako